For schools › Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

Alternative Fuels Incentive Grant (AFIG)

Next cycle State Next cycle, date not posted yet

Apply on the official site Request writing help Last verified on Nov 1, 2026 against the funder's page

Funder
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Deadline
Next cycle: Annual, typically two rounds per program year (2026 Round 1 closed April 1, 2026; Round 2 closed October 7, 2026). Page says the program is anticipated to reopen in winter 2027.
Cycle
Annual, typically two rounds per program year (2026 Round 1 closed April 1, 2026; Round 2 closed October 7, 2026). Page says the program is anticipated to reopen in winter 2027.
Posted
Not stated
Award range
$300,000
Total program funding
Not stated
Expected number of awards
Not stated
Match or cost share
Match not stated
Who applies
School districtsNonprofits
Who benefits
DistrictsStudentsCommunities
Eligible applicants
School districtsNonprofits
Education level
K-12
Topics
FacilitiesSTEM
Geography
PA
Source
FindGrants reviewed programs registry · ID pa-dep-alternative-fuels-incentive-grant

Summary

Grants to school districts, municipalities, nonprofits and businesses for alternative-fuel vehicle purchases/retrofits (including school buses), fleet refueling equipment and alternative-fuel education/demonstration projects. Public school districts are a 2026 funding priority.

Full description from the funder

Next cycle not yet posted. Annual, typically two rounds per program year (2026 Round 1 closed April 1, 2026; Round 2 closed October 7, 2026). Page says the program is anticipated to reopen in winter 2027. Grants to school districts, municipalities, nonprofits and businesses for alternative-fuel vehicle purchases/retrofits (including school buses), fleet refueling equipment and alternative-fuel education/demonstration projects. Public school districts are a 2026 funding priority. Page states 'AFIG 2026 is Closed' and 'The program is anticipated to reopen in winter 2027.' No next-round date is given, so deadline is null.

Page states approximately $5 million per year, individual application awards capped at $300,000 with a $500,000 maximum across all applications; Class 1 and 2 vehicle projects capped at $7,500 per vehicle. Guidelines are a PDF. Round dates above come from search snippets of the DEP page, not verbatim page text.

Details are copied from the funder's posting and may change. The official page is authoritative. Applying is free.